• Cooked a simple pulled pork today, rubbed with sugar and salt and left in the fridge for 36 hours. Cooked in the Gmg Daniel Boone pellet BBQ using Gmg fruit pellets and as an experiment I added 2 banksia cones and two small pieces of apple wood on top of the flame tamer. Cooked for around 10 hours at 100c. Internal temp was around 80c and it turned out to be the most moist pulled pork I've ever made.
    Taste was fantastic and I imagine it might be even better tomorrow.
    The pork neck is from Costco and they sell it with the net holding it all together.

Masterbuilt Gravity 800 | Maximus Pizza Oven | GMG - Daniel Boone | Cyprus Grill | Big Steel Keg | Blackstone Griddle | Fire Pit | Weber Genesis |

• love it. I have never done a pulled pork before but i had requests from my son and Brother in law today to do a pulled pork on the boonie, how does the neck compare to a shoulder?

besides salt and sugar you didnt use any other rubs? Was the bansia and applewood worth the effort? Did u sauce it after it was done?

My possessions: GMG DB - Ziggy Triple

• how does the neck compare to a shoulder?

besides salt and sugar you didnt use any other rubs? Was the bansia and applewood worth the effort? Did u sauce it after it was done?

I know lots of people use it, but I can't remember ever personally using shoulder for pulled pork so I can't say what the difference is. I imagine it would be minimal.
    I used only salt and sugar as I like pulled pork fairly plain. I never sauce it in bulk as I fear that the delicate PP flavour disappears that way, I usually make rolls and depending on mood I might add sauce at that time. Sometimes I like to use a spicy sauce (cholula or Sriracha) together with a good mayo.
    This particular PP batch came out so moist that I think I'll go without sauce tomorrow. The rest is going to be vac sealed and frozen.