New ProQ Frontier - Tips for first cook?

• Hi all,

Picked up the ProQ Frontier Elite last weekend and finally have had the chance to put it together. I did a dry run today to check temperature difference between hood and grates (and burn out any manufacturing nasties). Noticed that there was a fair bit of leakage between the top stacker and the hood, is that normal? Temperature difference was about 25f degrees hotter at top grate and dial, and 45 degrees between bottom grate and dial.

Going to put on a couple of slabs of pork ribs tomorrow and it's my first time with a bullet smoker - any tips for young players from seasoned BBQers?

Will probably try to use the Minion method, how long a cook should I be able to get out of a full charcoal basket at 225F? And how many coals should I stick in it to begin with (both lit, and unlit)?

(As an aside, I stuck a Maverick ET-733 probe into the gromlet during my dry run and liquid started coming out from the crimped point where the probe meets the braided cable - anyone have any clues on this one? Will check it against boiling water but I think the probe is now stuffed )

• Liquid coming out of the probe sounds very strange, the 733 probes I don't think are waterproof. I belive there is a rubber/silicone seal of types in the crimped part where the wire goes in. How hot did you push it? My original 733 is over a year old now and had a hard life, the Mav probes are fairly reliable. not trying to tell you how to suck eggs but your aware they read off the very tip?
    That's all I have mate I'm not a bullet smoker guy but there are a few around, I'm sure they will see this soon :thumbup:

• Hey dude,

Haha yeah - i know they read off the tip.